Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

Font Rendering Problems with Applications Which Use Pango [Solved]

bttr

Question

After a recent world update some libraries were updated and it brought me some serious problems. Well, I will start with the first problem I noted: the font of some programs just got weird.

1574451909.thumb.png.9564807f4200d87374e68803d7a67cf5.png

So after I noted that not all programs were updated properly which was the case of PyGTK 2. So I tried to update it but I got error messages as shown in the following image.

image.thumb.png.00ed74f085759a8c22de7e6fc1865793.png

I am not an expert in e-builds but seems that some libs requires a newer version of pango although PyGTK requires an older one.

Can anybody help me to fix this problem? As you could see before I am unable to understand the text of some programs and it is very very bad.

9 answers to this question

I think portage wants you to set the introspection USEFLAG for x11-libs/pango in /etc/portage/package.use, and then (most likely) you will have to add it for number of other gtk related packages as well.

I have run into something similar with both LXDE and virt-manager.  TBH, I don't really know what the introspection USEFLAG does or why it wants it.

I hope that helps.

On 11/23/2019 at 2:57 AM, lazlo.vii said:

I think portage wants you to set the introspection USEFLAG for x11-libs/pango in /etc/portage/package.use, and then (most likely) you will have to add it for number of other gtk related packages as well.

I have run into something similar with both LXDE and virt-manager.  TBH, I don't really know what the introspection USEFLAG does or why it wants it.

I hope that helps.

I have already set the introspection useflag for pango and I have already unmerged pygtk but I am still with the same problem. Am I the only suffering with this bug?

@bttr

If rectangles appearing instead of fonts is a problem then set the fonts to liberation, cantarell, or another non-bitmap font.