Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

Minimizing compile time

I plan to install Funtoo on some low-spec hardware (a P4 laptop with 512MB of RAM).  It will have the LXDE desktop, a web browser, LibreOffice, and not much else running on it.  I will be running "stable" rather than "current", in an effort to reduce the amount of updates I see.

Are there any suggestions for minimizing compile times?  Any USE flags I should be specifying to strip out unneeded features?  Any clever use of of package sets to avoid updating packages that are not security-related?

I'm brand new to Funtoo, so I might be missing some obvious techniques.  Don't be afraid to insult me with basic suggestions.

I can offer a few beginner suggestions.

You can reduce compiling time by not compiling larger packages and use the pre-compiled binaries for the web browser and LibreOffice.

This link should help with the web browser offerings.  http://www.funtoo.org/Web_Browsers

USE flags really depends on a lot of things, but since you want to use LXDE, you can "opt out" from the other major ones that bring in a lot of fluff.

/etc/portage/make.conf

USE="-gnome -kde"

VIDEO_CARDS="specific for your system (i.e. radeon)"

http://www.funtoo.org/Make.conf

That was where I started, later I learned from looking at what emerge said would get pulled in, and asking on IRC.

You can pretend to do the emerge (install) and that really helps to see what will get pulled in or changed.

I am sure others will chime in with specifics, like compiling on a different machine, etc.

I have a Toshiba TE2000, it's a P4, 15 years old and keeps on ticking, even the CDROM!  I don't think you'll find this is much of an issue once you get over the initial install, it's not that horribly slow.

I believe LXDE is a good choice, mine is openbox with  lxpanel, etc., I think LXDE IS openbox if I remember correctly.