Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

Fiber Channel and LSI FC949ES 7204EP-LC (mptfc?)

asewill

Question

I'm very new to fiber channel and storage arrays. While trying to set up an old JBOD (4G fiber channel SFP) and the HBA mentioned in the title of this post, I have been unable to figure it out on my own thus far. I'm using funtoo, with the cinnamon stage tarball as a base and debian-sources for my kernel source. The card shows up in lspci output, but the expected driver (mptfc, at least according to https://wiki.debian.org/DeviceDatabase/PCI) doesn't load, and doesn't even seem to be present on my system. Nothing in dmesg. I found mpt3sas, but that module doesn't seem to help. Is there someone on here with some expertise in this area that could point me in the right direction to get this working? I look forward to being able to test this JBOD--hopefully it works.

UPDATE:

I found the module source in debian-sources, and it looks like the default is to compile it as a module, but modprobe doesn't pick it up on my system. I'm running `make modules` now to see if I can load the module from there. My kernel-fu is a little rusty...too much relying on genkernel lately. I haven't even had to touch genkernel (beyond tweaking genkernel.conf for a few things) on this system.

Edited by asewill
New information

5 answers to this question

@asewill

I'm running an older version of debian-sources-lts.

No modification of the kernel configuration.

Genkernel builds the initramfs so it includes mptfc and autoloads it on boot.

rj@funtoo ~ $ modinfo mptfc
filename:       /lib/modules/4.19.152_p1-debian-sources-lts/kernel/drivers/message/fusion/mptfc.ko
version:        3.04.20
license:        GPL
description:    Fusion MPT FC Host driver
author:         LSI Corporation
srcversion:     2043697964B5896B7AB7B54
alias:          pci:v00001657d00000646sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00001000d00000646sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00001000d00000640sv*sd*bc*sc*i*