Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

New Funtoo user

jwjones

Hello good people!

I signed up here a while ago, but have only been lurking, as I hadn't yet ventured into installing Funtoo. I finally took the plunge yesterday at work, and started to install Funtoo on an old AMD Athlon 2000 XP desktop machine (768MB RAM, 80GB HDD!), to familiarize myself with the process, to eventually install on my own Core2 Duo desktop.

Linux kernel 3.16.2 was still building when I left for the weekend, so hopefully on Monday I will return and finish the process.

Oh, as background: I have been using Linux since about 1999. I think my first was RedHat (pre-Fedora). Ran Debian for a long time. Eventually moved to Slackware, and have been a happy slacker ever since, but I really wanted to delve into the source-based world of either Gentoo, Funtoo, or CRUX. So I decided on Funtoo, mostly because it seems like "Gentoo-improved," has a smaller community forum (Gentoo's is huge, CRUX is mailing-list only), and seems determined to avoid the "systemd takeover" of Linux.

I imagine I will have some questions along the way, but I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

hi welcome to the forums.  i also am a former slackware user.  i did a bit of distro hopping and eventually landed here.  that kind of machine i would build over ssh, and take your time.  boot live media, setup ssh, and ssh into the live media.  have a more powerful gui work station or what ever sshed in, then get screen going on the live media so you can detach the terminals, and leave the system to work in the background.

i think of installing funtoo as like parting together a linux system.  you use another live distro temporarily either directly or by ssh, mount the drive and chroot to it's mount point then you can directly repair any problems or fix anything from the chroot.  if the system doesn't boot correctly re load chroot, and work on it.