Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

What did/do you guys do?

• Funtoo Linux Developer

Hi guys,

I'm currently studying to get a bachelor degree in computer science and I wonder what would be the best way to complete my studies afterward.

I think Funtoo Linux users, more than any other distro I know, share a common passion on understanding what's actually going on between the "high-level layer" of their OS and the hardware. That's why I think your experiences and advices would be more valuable to me than those I could get from another more generic computer science forum.

For now, courses are easy enough to allow me to spend my "non-uni-time" on a part-time job as web-developer. And I spend the most part of my left spare time refining my system configuration, developing automation/productivity tools and taking part in Funtoo development as much as I can.

I pretty sure after my studies I would work in more or less the same field as you do (ie. somehow dealing with the low-level layer of the software, or even the hardware). So I would like to know what kind of work you do/did, and how was your studies.

Especally I'm often asking these questions to myself:

• Should I work my courses to get very good marks instead of good/sufficiant marks, instead of spending time learning things I think more relevant to me on my own (eg. getting involved in an open source community such as Funtoo)?
  • Would it be a good idea to make a PhD if I feel I could?

Thank you in advance for your precious feedbacks about your experience.

do good in school, make sure your marks are excellent.  jobs in capitalist merica demand your report card kicks ass.  learn the subject material really well then write essays, and apply for honorary phd degrees.  get a BS then honorary phd...  that's my advice...  i cant do much more than associates because im full retard and good at failing.