Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

Confusion regarding debian-sources kernel and using LVM

xsilentmurmurx

Question

Hello everyone

This is my first time posting in the forums.  I am currently trying to install Funtoo on my desktop computer with UEFI/GPT and LVM.  As I am reading the documentation, I am running into some instructions which seem vague to me:

1) In the official installation guide, it mentions that if you already have a version of debian-sources installed, you can skip the kernel section and go to the bootloader section.  This section does not mention anything about if you are using LVMs

2) In the following documentation:   https://www.funtoo.org/LVM_Install_Guide

It mentions that after using genkernel to build the initramfs, we will still need to build the kernel to be able to use LVM.  How do I build the kernel itself? 

3) In the official instruction guide, in the section about partitioning the disk using the new school method of UEFI/GPT,  it explains how to create the EFI Boot partition, the Swap partition and the root partition.  From what I understand about UEFI/GPT, a small Bios Boot partition is required to be able to boot.  Was this step left out of the instructions?  I see it on this documentation: https://www.funtoo.org/Partitioning_using_gdisk

What's confusing to me is that the official installation guide is more recently updated than the other two articles.  Which do I follow to be able to successfully boot my system after I am done installing it? 

Thanks for all help and happy new year!

9 answers to this question