Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

Improving on a good thing.

lazlo.vii

Hi,

I hope this is the right place to post this. 

A bit of background that can be skipped if you are in a hurry:

I am by no means a programmer and try hard just to stay out of the way and keep my head down when using open source software.  I've been using Funtoo for a long time now on my home servers.  These systems started as lab style "blow them away at the drop of a hat when things go bad while flying by the seat of my pants learning a thing or two along the way" machines but over the years they have evolved into a much more stable pattern.  I have a desktop for gaming but I don't run Funtoo on it, choosing Mint instead because "It just works" most of the time.  One of the things that bothers me about Mint is the lack of real data protection in the default install so I set up a raid like I do with my server but instead of mdadm I used brtfs,  This means that the default filesystem snapshot tool in Mint (TimeShift) can't work on my system.  So I dug around and found a very cool utility called "snapper" that auto snapshots my btrfs filesystem.  It does this transparently in the back ground and can be configured to keep so many hourly, daily, weekly (and so on) snapshots.  The cool thing is that it makes a pre and post snapshot every time I unistall or uninstall software with apt.  I looked for snapper in portage and it's there.  This has me thinking about starting a fresh install of Funtoo on my server and using btrfs raid10 and having snapper as a second layer of system protection.

So to the point:

Can snapper automatically snapshot a btrfs filesystem before and after an emerge command is executed?  If not would making it do so be trivial or non-trivial?  If it does so or can easily be made to do so why not add a snapper use flag to btrfs-progs so it would be pulled in if desired by the system admin?