Read the Funtoo Newsletter: Summer 2023 ×

Samba crashes on boot, works if restarted

dkg

Question

I have a problem with samba on a file server that's been happening for a while, but just now having a closer look.  When I boot the server, about the only feedback I find is in /var/log/samba/log.smbd:

[2015/03/16 13:31:49,  0] smbd/server.c:1072(main)
  smbd version 3.6.25 started.
  Copyright Andrew Tridgell and the Samba Team 1992-2011

So, everything seems fine, but the shares are unresponsive.  So I check status:

# /etc/init.d/samba status

And then this shows up in /var/log/messages:

Mar 16 13:33:04 wolfie /etc/init.d/samba[3616]: status: crashed

But there are actually smbd processes running:

# ps u -C smbd
USER       PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
root      3216  0.0  0.1  49376  7172 ?        Ss   13:31   0:00 /usr/sbin/smbd -D
root      3235  0.0  0.1  49376  4452 ?        S    13:31   0:00 /usr/sbin/smbd -D

So I restart:

# /etc/init.d/samba restart
 * samba -> stop: smbd ...                                                                                                                     [ ok ]
 * samba -> stop: nmbd ...
 * start-stop-daemon: no matching processes found                                                                                              [ ok ]
 * samba -> start: smbd ...                                                                                                                    [ ok ]
 * samba -> start: nmbd ...
# /etc/init.d/samba status
# ps u -C smbd
USER       PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
root      3761  0.0  0.1  49376  7308 ?        Ss   13:41   0:00 /usr/sbin/smbd -D
root      3764  0.0  0.1  49376  4348 ?        S    13:41   0:00 /usr/sbin/smbd -D

At this point, everything works.  Any thoughts on how to get this working on boot?