You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-08 12:06:37

mrmanitech
New member
Registered: 2012-10-17
Posts: 3

Funtoo Noob KDE Help

So i can happily say that i have now installed a working funtoo desktop to my machine using the UI in the installation guide "YAY for me"

but being a complete noob to gentoo and funtoo "10 year ubuntu user" i am confused on how i would go about installing KDE "latest" to my funtoo installation

If anyone could point me in the right direction or be very specific with what i am to do, it would make my experience a lot better.

also i am running 32bit latest build as of last night.

Offline

#2 2013-02-08 16:46:48

leprosys
Member
From: El Salvador
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 54

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

First sure you install funtoo-current or unmask last version of KDE on stable.

Select KDE and Desktop on your profile:

# eselect profile list
# eselect profile remove 6
# eselect profile add 7
# eselect profile add 13

Update the world:

emerge -uDNa --with-bdeps=y @world

Finally install KDE. You have two options:

  1. Install All suite of KDE with kde-base/kde-meta

  2. A minimal install with kde-base/kdebase-meta.

In the case you select the second option.

emerge kde-base/kdebase-meta

Enjoy smile

Offline

#3 2013-07-06 10:56:08

Nikos Alexandris
Member
From: Trikala, Greece
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 26

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

Hi!

I am to the point of issuing

emerge kde-base/kde-meta

However, I get a list of The following USE changes are necessary to proceed: with various

# required by kde-base/...

entries, and a message Use --automask-write to write changes to config files (honoring CONFIG_PROTECT). ....

Is this the correct way to install KDE?

Thanks, Nikos

Offline

#4 2013-07-07 12:25:34

funfool
Member
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 23

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

We need to be careful with advice, leprosy gave good advice at the time this was written, now profiles have been added and, eselect profile add 13  is now gnome and not kde.
And I just check and see I am wrong, was another flavor added and now kde is 15

eselect profile list

Pay attention to which lines have a * next to them. The * means it is set, seems you were following some old advice and may have changed some.
you want to have one of each set, for build profile you want either stable or current set, stable is just older packages.
For flavor profile, your choice but desktop should be fine for you.
when it comes to mix-ins, you can add as many as you want. when you add kde, some others will be marked as auto selected, X would be one of them.

Offline

#5 2013-07-08 00:48:44

rh1
_Member
From: Eastern Shore, VA
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 388

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

Having 32bit vs 64 bit can also change the profile numbers. Users should always check on their system for the correct numbers before adding.

Offline

#6 2013-07-09 11:12:21

Nikos Alexandris
Member
From: Trikala, Greece
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 26

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

funfool wrote:

We need to be careful with advice, leprosy gave good advice at the time this was written, now profiles have been added and, eselect profile add 13  is now gnome and not kde.
And I just check and see I am wrong, was another flavor added and now kde is 15

eselect profile list

Pay attention to which lines have a * next to them. The * means it is set, seems you were following some old advice and may have changed some.
you want to have one of each set, for build profile you want either stable or current set, stable is just older packages.
For flavor profile, your choice but desktop should be fine for you.
when it comes to mix-ins, you can add as many as you want. when you add kde, some others will be marked as auto selected, X would be one of them.

Hi,

I have read another, very long, reply (of yours) in another thread.  Very informative. (Please, don't get offended, but the text I am reffering to, though super-Helpful, is quite difficult to read -- a few empty lines would make it easier.  Well, I don't remember well if it was yours actually :-/).  It explains the difference between setting profiles and actually emerging stuff into the system, if I am not wrong the way I describe it.  Can't trace it anymore (and I have to work a lot these days).

For the records:


Currently available arch profiles:
  [1]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/arch/x86-64bit * 
  [2]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/arch/pure64
Currently available build profiles:
  [3]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/build/stable
  [4]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/build/current * 
  [5]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/build/experimental
Currently available flavor profiles:
  [6]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/flavor/minimal
  [7]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/flavor/core
  [8]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/flavor/desktop * 
  [9]   funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/flavor/workstation
  [10]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/flavor/hardened
Currently available mix-ins profiles:
  [11]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/audio (auto) 
  [12]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/console-extras (auto) 
  [13]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/dvd (auto) 
  [14]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/gnome
  [15]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/kde * 
  [16]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/mate
  [17]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/media (auto) 
  [18]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/print (auto) 
  [19]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/python3-only
  [20]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/rhel5-compat
  [21]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/server-db
  [22]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/server-mail
  [23]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/server-web
  [24]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/X (auto) 
  [25]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/xfce
  [26]  funtoo/1.0/linux-gnu/mix-ins/vmware-guest

No worries, though.  I think that I got it right and will learn along the way.  My intention is to stay in Funtoo-land.  So far, I really like it :-)

So, I executed

etc-update

as root after using the

--automask-write

parameter allong with

emerge

Exception, I have no idea why my system got into Hibernate mode when viewing a very large image (>1GB) and wanted to check some "Flash' ( :-/ ) video.  (I want/ed to ask, in another thread, how do I trace what exactly instructed the hibernation.  I can see in some logs (dunno/remember which ones, I am not that fit inside

/var/log

).

Thank you for your time and the will to support, Nikos

Last edited by Nikos Alexandris (2013-07-12 20:56:16)

Offline

#7 2013-07-12 20:36:48

Judge
Staff
From: Germany, NRW, Heiligenhaus
Registered: 2011-07-03
Posts: 283

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

Hi Nikos Alexandris,

from what I read here, you're a very welcome member! smile I wish all newbees would write that nice.

One little wish: Do I understand this thread correct when I say that your issue has solved? If so, it would be great if you add "[solved]" to the Thread's topic. Thank you very much and have a nice Funtoo-Journey! smile

Offline

#8 2013-07-12 20:58:19

Nikos Alexandris
Member
From: Trikala, Greece
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 26

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

Judge wrote:

Hi Nikos Alexandris,

from what I read here, you're a very welcome member! smile I wish all newbees would write that nice.

One little wish: Do I understand this thread correct when I say that your issue has solved? If so, it would be great if you add "[solved]" to the Thread's topic. Thank you very much and have a nice Funtoo-Journey! smile

Hi!

Ehm... I can't see how I can edit the thread's subject.  Maybe only the OP is able to do that?  In a way, I hijacked an old thread... !?  Also, I'd be more than happy to provide more details on the matter (if asked, details that should be posted).

Best, Nikos

Last edited by Nikos Alexandris (2013-07-12 20:58:40)

Offline

#9 2013-07-12 21:00:54

Judge
Staff
From: Germany, NRW, Heiligenhaus
Registered: 2011-07-03
Posts: 283

Re: Funtoo Noob KDE Help

*gg* Wow - my bad! Sorry, I did not notice the hijack wink Then better do not touch it.
For the future: When You hit "edit" in the first Post of your thread, you can edit the topic as well smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB