You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-27 22:09:46

mlmoses
Member
From: Michigan, USA
Registered: 2012-04-14
Posts: 55

Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

At work, we've switched to Microsoft's Office365 for businesses instead of managing our own Exchange server. Since the move, I have discovered that I cannot resolve the "outlook.office365.com" address. Every other web site I use on a regular basis works correctly. I don't really know where to begin looking for the cause.

Here's what I know:

  • It's not a hardware issue. I dual-boot between Funtoo and Windows. If I boot into Windows, I can successfully resolve the address. I also have a virtual machine running Windows which can successfully resolve the address.

  • Whatever bit of configuration I've messed up, it affects both of my machines: a laptop and a desktop.

  • It's not a firewall issue. The problem persists even after stopping and clearing shorewall.

  • My network config is pretty much default. I rely on NetworkManager and DHCP. I don't think I've customized anything there.

  • My laptop connects wirelessly, while my desktop uses a wired connection. So the problem isn't specific to a particular connection type.

  • It's not a browser issue. None of the applications I've tested with can resolve the address: Firefox, curl, wget, traceroute, etc.

If someone could give me a couple of ideas as to where I should start looking, I'd be grateful.

Last edited by mlmoses (2014-02-08 03:42:41)

Offline

#2 2014-01-27 23:45:24

aramis_qc
Member
From: Québec - Canada
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 312

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

I've just entered outlook.office365.com in FF and I can access the site. How do you try to connect, eg evolution, thunderbird ?

Offline

#3 2014-01-28 00:02:08

mlmoses
Member
From: Michigan, USA
Registered: 2012-04-14
Posts: 55

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

I initially noticed the problem in Firefox, as I use the web interface to access my email and other data. All of the testing I've done has thus been via HTTP and HTTPS. I've tried Firefox, curl, wget, and a little Python script I wrote just to test this issue. traceroute also fails to resolve outlook.office365.com.

I would also like to add that mail.office365.com works fine.

Offline

#4 2014-01-30 04:04:23

mlmoses
Member
From: Michigan, USA
Registered: 2012-04-14
Posts: 55

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

Whatever the cause, the problem has cleared up on its own. I'm marking this as solved, though I have no clue what happened.

Offline

#5 2014-02-08 03:48:02

mlmoses
Member
From: Michigan, USA
Registered: 2012-04-14
Posts: 55

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

Turns out this isn't solved after all. As of this morning, I am again not longer able to resolve outlook.office365.com from Funtoo. Furthermore, I can login to my account via mail.office365.com, but I'm then redirected to pod51041.outlook.com which is also unresolvable. As before, this is not a problem from Windows or my Android smartphone. Could this be the result of an improperly configured kernel (I'm using sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.13.1)?

I should note that I was able to resolve both these addresses at work today, so the problem seems to be specific to using Funtoo on my network at home. I don't really know where to start troubleshooting though.

Last edited by mlmoses (2014-02-08 03:54:59)

Offline

#6 2014-02-09 13:44:22

404_Error
Core Team Member
From: Quebec city, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 511

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

The kernel has nothing to do with hosts' names resolution, the problem directly comes from a clunky resolver configuration on your machine or a DNS server you use. Do you use a local DNS server on your network? Did you edited /etc/hosts? What /etc/nsswitch.conf and /etc/resolv.conf looks like? I just checked :

> outlook.office365.com
Server:         192.168.1.1
Address:        192.168.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
outlook.office365.com   canonical name = outlook.office365.com.glbdns.microsoft.com.
outlook.office365.com.glbdns.microsoft.com      canonical name = outlook-namnorth.office365.com.
Name:   outlook-namnorth.office365.com
Address: 157.56.238.118
Name:   outlook-namnorth.office365.com
Address: 157.56.238.121
Name:   outlook-namnorth.office365.com
Address: 132.245.15.214
...

If you use something like 8.8.8.8 as a DNS server (8.8.8.8 is a a public DNS server) do you experience the problem? Also do you have some sort of packet filtering system that would drop some traffic?

Offline

#7 2014-02-09 19:46:32

aramis_qc
Member
From: Québec - Canada
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 312

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

404_Error wrote:

The kernel has nothing to do with hosts' names resolution, the problem directly comes from a clunky resolver configuration on your machine or a DNS server you use. Do you use a local DNS server on your network? Did you edited /etc/hosts? What /etc/nsswitch.conf and /etc/resolv.conf looks like? I just checked :

> outlook.office365.com
Server:         192.168.1.1
Address:        192.168.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
outlook.office365.com   canonical name = outlook.office365.com.glbdns.microsoft.com.
outlook.office365.com.glbdns.microsoft.com      canonical name = outlook-namnorth.office365.com.
Name:   outlook-namnorth.office365.com
Address: 157.56.238.118
Name:   outlook-namnorth.office365.com
Address: 157.56.238.121
Name:   outlook-namnorth.office365.com
Address: 132.245.15.214
...

If you use something like 8.8.8.8 as a DNS server (8.8.8.8 is a a public DNS server) do you experience the problem? Also do you have some sort of packet filtering system that would drop some traffic?

Hi 404_error !

There's no need to edit /etc/hosts anymore. This file now is initialized by /etc/conf.d/localhost.

Offline

#8 2014-02-09 19:55:40

404_Error
Core Team Member
From: Quebec city, Quebec, Canada
Registered: 2010-10-08
Posts: 511

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

Free feel to correct me but those are two different things.... /etc/conf.d/localhost is where you configure your host's name, I do not see a manner to populate /etc/hosts from there....

Offline

#9 2014-02-10 15:49:44

aramis_qc
Member
From: Québec - Canada
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 312

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

404_Error wrote:

Free feel to correct me but those are two different things.... /etc/conf.d/localhost is where you configure your host's name, I do not see a manner to populate /etc/hosts from there....

Please look at this section of the wiki.

It is specified : You no longer need to manually set the hostname in this file. This file is automatically generated by /etc/init.d/hostname.

Offline

#10 2014-02-15 17:24:50

mlmoses
Member
From: Michigan, USA
Registered: 2012-04-14
Posts: 55

Re: Unable to resolve outlook.office365.com

It seems some issues I've been experiencing on other operating systems and devices may be related, so I'm going to get in touch with my ISP and see where things fall before I look any futher at my own configuration. As it stands, some days I can resolve outlook.office365.com and some days I can't. For the last week or so (maybe longer) I have not been able to resolve easylist.adblockplus.org either. My Roku is having trouble retrieving videos for various channels and checking for updates. Also, DNS lookups on all my devices seem to be taking longer than they used to. I'll post more once I've had chance to communicate with my ISP.

404_Error wrote:

The kernel has nothing to do with hosts' names resolution

Yeah, I know, but in my frustration I was grasping at straws...

404_Error wrote:

Do you use a local DNS server on your network? Did you edited /etc/hosts?

No and no.

404_Error wrote:

What /etc/nsswitch.conf and /etc/resolv.conf looks like?

/etc/resolv.conf is managed by resolveconf and I have never directly edited this file. /etc/nsswitch.conf is default except for the "hosts:" line, which I changed to the following and have been using for several years:

hosts:       files mdns_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] dns mdns myhostname
404_Error wrote:

If you use something like 8.8.8.8 as a DNS server (8.8.8.8 is a a public DNS server) do you experience the problem?

I have not had the opportunity to try any DNS servers other than the ones provided by my ISP. However, I have been looking into using Google's public DNS servers or OpenDNS. Also, I don't have any problems resolving names when I use Tor.

404_Error wrote:

Also do you have some sort of packet filtering system that would drop some traffic?

Nope, unless my ISP snuck into the modem/router they gave me and changed something. I only have limited access to configure the device myself. I use Shorewall, but I stopped and cleared it when I was having problems to make sure it wasn't getting in the way.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB